Gov. Gavin Newsom signed legislation in late August extending the Jan. 1, 2020 deadline for businesses to comply with new anti-harassment training procedures for California. The order provides a one-year delay for larger companies to begin training non-supervisory employees, while smaller businesses have an extra year before they must provide training for supervisors.
However, one stipulation left intact for the Jan. 1, 2020 deadline is for companies with five or more employees to provide training for seasonal, temporary and short-term workers within the first 30 days of employment, or 100 hours worked, whichever comes first.
Anti-harassment law amended
California employers with 50 or more employees currently must provide two hours of sexual harassment prevention education and training within six months of a supervisor being hired or promoted, and every two years after. The amendment changes the training requirement to include:
- Employers with five or more employees
- Training non-supervisory employees
- Prompt training of temporary, short-term and seasonal employees
State provides FAQ guide over sexual harassment training
The California Department of Fair Employment and Housing has published a document including frequently asked questions over the current rules and includes the new deadline for employers to comply.
Training requirements must be met every two years, and employers must keep track of the dates that employees received training. While businesses fought hard for the extension, they are advised to take steps sooner rather than later to get the training in place.
Seek legal advice if you are the target of sexual harassment
Sexual harassment in the workplace can lead to fear, intimidation, emotional pain and, in many cases, lost wages, benefits and promotions. If you have been subjected to sexual harassment in the workplace, working with an experienced attorney here in California can help you receive the compensation you deserve while holding others responsible for their behavior.